On 5/11/09, David Wilson <davidwwilson@comcast.net> wrote:
... The "en passant" rule says that if A's pawn moves two sqaures from the home rank, attacking B's pawn, and on the next play, B moves the attacked pawn one square forward to avoid capture, that A, on the next move, can capture B's pawn in the same rank as if A's pawn had moved only one square on the earlier move. But that same logic would apply to any piece that moved next to A's pawn in the same rank on the move following the A's two-square move. I argue that it should be possible to capture any piece en passant.
Indeed, such a modification has been observed in the darker corners of chess culture for quite some time: I well recall, when young, trusting, and new to the game, finding my rook unexpectedly removed from the board by an opponent on exactly these grounds! WFL