I'd describe en passant differently, involving only two moves: If A's pawn P moves two squares from the home rank, and if B has a pawn p immediately to the right or left of P, then -- only on the next move -- p can capture P by moving diagonally, just as if P had moved only one square, not two. --Dan << The "en passant" rule says that if A's pawn moves two squares from the home rank, attacking B's pawn, and on the next play, B moves the attacked pawn one square forward to avoid capture, that A, on the next move, can capture B's pawn in the same rank as if A's pawn had moved only one square on the earlier move. . . .
_____________________________________________________________________ "It don't mean a thing if it ain't got that certain je ne sais quoi." --Peter Schickele